Blog

To Delete or to Inactivate? That is the Question.

Rocky Berger

Rocky Berger
|

Doc e Fill administrators often find themselves asking what to do when an employee leaves. We pulled together the most common scenarios and some helpful advice to answer that question.

If the user in question has received or sent any Doc e Fill forms, that user cannot be deleted. Customers using only Softdocs On Demand that wish to keep former employees from having access to payroll documents can safely delete those users.

Now that you know who can and cannot be deleted, here’s a quick review of how to make a user inactive:

  • Access the modify user screen.
  • Select the inactive box near the bottom.

When a user is marked as inactive, they will still show up in routing but documents will be accessible to the forwarding user.

Best Practices & Features
When an employee leaves, whether temporarily or permanently, and they have sent or received forms, it’s usually a good idea to mark them as inactive.

If it’s a temporary situation, such as vacation for example, marking them inactive within the system allows forms to continue along their workflow to a designated recipient until the original user is changed back to active preventing bottlenecks. When the person returns to work, simply deselect the inactive box and the workflow will return to its original pathway. Email alerts and documents will also be forwarded to a designated user chosen by a Doc e Fill administrator.

In order to access documents that are in an inactive user’s inbox, the forwarding recipient must access the inactive user’s account through Doc e Fill. Enter the inactive employee’s username and enter their own password and ID into the remaining fields. (Note: This protects the password and ID of the inactive user.) The resulting screen after login will allow the forwarding user to approve or deny documents, but prevent them from sending new documents from the document library.

Softdocs On Demand Users
For customers who are only utilizing Softdocs On Demand (SOD), a decision must be made about whether you want former employees to retain the ability to see their paystubs and miscellaneous documents. All access to your institution’s network can be removed from their account without affecting SOD, unless you are using Active Directory controls. If Active Directory is in use, change the user access type to “Default” and set a password for the specific user.

If your institution uses SOD and routes other forms with Doc e Fill, all of the details from above still apply. Check with each user to see if they have forms in their inbox that can be processed. You will also want to access the user modify screen in Doc e Fill to remove all the departments, locations and groups, so the user will not show up in any established routes.

Have questions? Reach out to us. We’re here to help.